City Council

Friday 20 May 2011

PRESENT:

Councillor Mrs Aspinall, in the Chair.

Councillor Coker, Vice Chair.

Councillors Ball, Mrs Beer, Berrow, Bowie, Bowyer, Mrs Bowyer, Mrs Bragg, Brookshaw, Browne, Casey, Churchill, Davey, Delbridge, Mrs Dolan, Drean, K Foster, Mrs Foster, Fry, Gordon, Haydon, James, Jordan, Martin Leaves, Michael Leaves, Sam Leaves, Lock, Lowry, Dr. Mahony, McDonald, Monahan, Murphy, Mrs Nelder, Nicholson, Mrs Nicholson, Penberthy, Mrs Pengelly, Rennie, Ricketts, Dr. Salter, Singh, Smith, Stark, Stevens, Thompson, Tuffin, Tuohy, Vincent, Wheeler, Wigens, Williams and Wright.

Apologies for absence: Councillors Evans, Reynolds, Smith and Wildy

The meeting started at 10.30 am and finished at 11.30 am.

Note: At a future meeting, the Council will consider the accuracy of these draft minutes, so they may be subject to change. Please check the minutes of that meeting to confirm whether these minutes have been amended.

1. TO ELECT THE LORD MAYOR AND DEPUTY LORD MAYOR FOR THE PERIOD UP TO THE NEXT ANNUAL MEETING.

<u>Agreed</u> that Councillor Peter Brookshaw is elected Lord Mayor and Councillor Edward Delbridge is elected Deputy Lord Mayor, for the ensuing year.

2. TO RECEIVE ANY ANNOUNCEMENTS OR COMMUNICATIONS FROM THE LORD MAYOR.

There were no announcements by the Lord Mayor.

3. VOTE OF THANKS TO THE RETIRING LORD MAYOR AND DEPUTY LORD MAYOR.

Agreed that -

- the Council accords to Councillor Mary Aspinall the sincere thanks
 of the Citizens of Plymouth for the invaluable services she has
 rendered to the City as Lord Mayor since May 2010, and for the able
 manner in which she has presided over the deliberations of the
 Council during that period;
- (2) the Council expresses its indebtedness to Councillor Mark Coker for his diligent and efficient discharge of the duties of Deputy Lord Mayor, and to Kate Aspinall as the Lady Mayoress, and Ms Sally Bowie as the Deputy Lady Mayoress, who have supported them

during their year of office.

TO ELECT THE LEADER. 4.

Agreed that Councillor Mrs Pengelly is elected Leader of the City Council.

TO RECEIVE INFORMATION CONCERNING THE MEMBERSHIP OF THE 5. CABINET AND DELEGATION OF RESPONSIBILITY TO CABINET MEMBERS.

The Council received the report of the Leader which advised that the Cabinet would comprise the following Members with the scheme of delegation as submitted -

Portfolio	Member
Leader	Councillor Mrs Pengelly
Deputy Leader / Planning, Strategic Housing and	Councillor Fry
Economic Development	
Finance, Property and People	Councillor Bowyer
Community Services (Safer and Stronger	Councillor Jordan
Communities and Leisure, Culture and Sport	
Customer Services	Councillor Ball
Community Services (Street Scene, Waste and	Councillor Mike Leaves
Sustainability)	
Transformation, Performance and Governance	Councillor Ricketts
Adult Health and Social Care	Councillor Monahan
Children and Young People	Councillor Sam Leaves
Transport	Councillor Wigens

Agreed that the membership of Cabinet and the delegation of responsibilities to Cabinet Members are noted.

TO APPOINT COUNCILLORS TO OTHER COMMITTEES, JOINT 6. **COMMITTEES AND OUTSIDE BODIES.**

Schedules of the nominations to committees, joint committees, panels etc and outside bodies were submitted.

Agreed that approval is given to -

- the appointments to committees, joint committees, panels etc including the Chairs and Vice Chairs for the transaction of the business of the Council for the municipal year and to note the nominated Cabinet appointments as indicated;
- the appointments and nominations of councillors and others as representatives on outside bodies, though membership of the Devonport Community Lands Trust, Estover/Leigham/Mainstone Management Committee, Plymouth Foyer and South West Councils will be deferred to the next meeting of the City Council.